Niacinamide Serum Directions: Strengths and Mixing Rules

As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. This post may contain affiliate links.
Last updated: September 30, 2026 · By
niacinamide serum irritation

Before comparing niacinamide percentages, check the instructions for the whole formula. These five product checks separate declared strengths, mixing permissions and warnings without ranking irritation risk.

Flushing or prickling after a skincare product does not identify the responsible ingredient. A serum name, niacinamide percentage or zinc claim cannot diagnose the reaction or tell you which replacement you will tolerate. The useful pre-purchase task is to match the exact formula to its own instructions.

Research method: HomeWiseReview used AI tools to check the five brands’ official US product pages on September 30, 2026. Paula’s Choice instructions and FAQ were read in its rendered page after the text extraction was incomplete. We recorded declared concentrations, amounts, application steps and mixing limits, plus American Academy of Dermatology guidance on testing new products. We did not apply the products, recruit a panel or count a representative complaint sample. This is a dated directions comparison; manufacturer performance statements remain claims.

Three findings before the product comparison

  • A percentage can be undisclosed. CeraVe lists niacinamide without stating its concentration on the checked page. Treating it as a measured lower-strength option would fill that gap with a guess.
  • Mixing permissions vary. The Ordinary, Paula’s Choice and INKEY give different vitamin C instructions. Permission for one named formula does not establish compatibility for every bottle containing those ingredients.
  • Amounts are not interchangeable. A drop, a pea-sized amount and an even layer are different instructions. INKEY’s own page contains two dose descriptions; we keep that discrepancy visible.

Five product checks: strengths, directions and limits

The retained Amazon links open searches, which can return different sellers, sizes and formula generations. Match the exact package and instructions before use; no listing, price or stock has been verified here. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.

ProductDeclared strengths and checked directions
The Ordinary Niacinamide 10 Zinc 110% niacinamide; label names Zinc 1%. A few facial drops AM/PM, on unbroken skin; rinse, stop and consult a physician if irritation occurs. The page excludes direct and indirect vitamin C and recommends separate routines. Manufacturer source
Paula s Choice 10 Niacinamide Booster10% niacinamide; FAQ states 2% ascorbyl glucoside. Current rendered page gives 2-3 facial drops AM/PM and permits use alone or mixing. FAQ narrows mixing to non-SPF products, as tolerated. No comparative irritation result supplied. Manufacturer source
Naturium Niacinamide Serum 12 Plus Zinc 2Brand identifies 12% niacinamide and 2% zinc PCA, with new packaging described as the same formula. Shake, apply an even layer AM/PM to face/neck/chest, then moisturizer; lab panel gives 1-2 pea-sized drops. Patch testing advised. Eight-week brand efficacy claim does not compare flushing risk. Manufacturer source
The Inkey List Niacinamide Serum10% niacinamide. Main directions specify a pea-sized amount after cleansing/hydrating AM/PM; FAQ instead says 2-3 drops. Main warning excludes high-strength vitamin C and exfoliating acids but permits the brand's 15% Vitamin C + EGF serum. Eye avoidance, external use and patch testing stated. Directions are recorded without resolving the dosage discrepancy. Manufacturer source
CeraVe PM Facial Moisturizing LotionNiacinamide is listed but its percentage is not disclosed on this checked US page. Directions specify liberal face/neck application at night or physician direction. A lotion format, ceramides and hydration positioning do not prove less irritation than the four serums. Manufacturer source

Read the mixing rule for the specific formula

The Ordinary’s current compatibility panel excludes both direct and indirect vitamin C; its FAQ recommends separate routines. Paula’s Choice instead says its booster contains a vitamin C derivative and permits layering as tolerated. Its mixing FAQ specifies a non-SPF product. INKEY’s main warning excludes high-strength vitamin C and exfoliating acids while naming its own 15% Vitamin C + EGF serum as an allowed pairing. These statements do not support a universal yes-or-no mixing rule, or permission to alter sunscreen.

A zinc claim also needs its full wording. Naturium explicitly names zinc PCA, a zinc salt. The Ordinary’s product name gives a zinc percentage. This comparison records the brand declarations without converting them into an elemental-zinc comparison or a drying-risk scale.

Keep inconsistent amount instructions visible

INKEY’s main application section uses a pea-sized amount; its FAQ uses two-to-three drops. The discrepancy may matter when the package and dispenser differ. Check the supplied label and seek clarification from the manufacturer instead of combining the two into an invented dose. Naturium’s even-layer wording and its separate one-to-two-pea-sized-drops note likewise should remain attached to that product.

CeraVe PM: a different format, with unknown strength

The lotion remains an option to investigate if you want a moisturizer rather than an additional serum step. Its current US page does not provide a niacinamide percentage or a matched tolerability comparison. The moisturizer format therefore does not establish a safer choice for someone who has already reacted to a product.

Check that the received product is PM Facial Moisturizing Lotion, rather than another CeraVe face moisturizer. Its night-use instructions do not supply the directions for an AM sunscreen. We have not confirmed which version any search result will deliver.

Testing guidance has limits

AAD’s guidance for testing new skincare describes a small arm or elbow-area test twice daily for seven to ten days. It advises washing off a product and stopping if a reaction develops, and explains that a dermatologist may be needed to identify the cause. This does not guarantee facial tolerance or replace the product’s warnings. A short home test is not the medical patch testing used to investigate an allergy.

If a current product has already caused a reaction, this comparison is not a reason to reapply it, dilute it or substitute another niacinamide formula. The Ordinary’s checked warning specifically calls for rinsing, stopping and physician advice if irritation occurs. We cannot determine from a symptom description whether niacinamide, another ingredient or something else is responsible.

A useful record before buying again

Keep the complete product and version name, package directions, amount used, other products applied at the same time and when symptoms began. Those details make a manufacturer or clinician discussion more precise. They cannot establish a population-wide irritation rate. Undisclosed concentrations and conflicting directions remain unresolved until the relevant source clarifies them.

Niacinamide direction questions

Is CeraVe PM definitely lower-strength?

The checked US page does not disclose its niacinamide percentage. This comparison cannot quantify its strength against the serums or rank irritation risk.

Can I mix every niacinamide serum with vitamin C?

The checked brands give different instructions. Follow the specific product’s package and resolve unclear wording with its manufacturer; a permission for one formula is not a universal rule.

Does redness prove niacinamide caused it?

No cause is established by this directions audit. A reaction calls for appropriate advice and the product’s stop-use guidance, not an ingredient diagnosis from a marketing label.

Related archive

These existing guides cover broader skincare selection. Their product rankings and compatibility claims have not been verified by this five-product directions audit.

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases made through links on our site.