“Leave a hair mask on for 20 minutes” sounds like harmless universal advice. Current brand directions say otherwise. We checked 30 exact products from 30 brands and normalized when each one goes on, how long it stays, whether it replaces conditioner, whether heat changes the timing and whether it must be rinsed.
The published instructions run from 30 seconds for the current full-size Davines NOUNOU Mask to as long as 60 minutes for an intensive Kristin Ess treatment or the no-heat tgin route. K18 is the only leave-in in the sample. Thirteen products explicitly replace, can replace or remove the need for a separate conditioner step, while four current directions place the mask after conditioner as either the required or an allowed route.

What the 30-product directions check found
- Short instructions are common. Twelve products publish a maximum of five minutes or less. The current full-size Davines NOUNOU page says 30 seconds; Garnier’s Instructions of Use says one minute; Aussie says three.
- Longer is sometimes a separate treatment mode. Color Wow’s standard direction is three to five minutes, with up to 20 minutes for an intensive treatment. Kristin Ess allows a five-minute standard use or up to one hour under a plastic cap. Those are options, not evidence that every mask improves with more time.
- Heat can reverse the intuitive rule. tgin says 10–15 minutes under a dryer but 35–60 minutes without heat. SheaMoisture says about 15 minutes with low dryer heat or up to 30 without it.
- Conditioner order is not interchangeable. Thirteen directions let the mask replace conditioner or say no separate conditioner is needed. Wella, tgin and Carol’s Daughter place the mask after conditioner; Eva NYC permits either after conditioner or in its place. K18 says to skip conditioner before the four-minute leave-in step, although conditioner may follow afterward.
- Twenty-nine are rinse-out treatments. K18 is the only no-rinse product retained. Coco & Eve permits an overnight route, but the mask is still rinsed afterward.
Hair-mask directions for 30 current products
The “time” column preserves the current official product-page direction instead of averaging disagreements. “No hard maximum” means the page gives a minimum or says longer use is allowed without publishing an upper limit. Open the exact source before use because formulas, pages and regional instructions can change.
| Product and official source | Apply | Published time | Rinse and conditioner order | Important current caveat |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| K18 Leave-In Molecular Repair Hair Mask | After shampoo, towel-dried; ends toward roots | Wait 4 minutes before styling | Leave in; skip conditioner before, but it may follow after 4 minutes | Only no-rinse product in this sample |
| Briogeo Don’t Despair, Repair! Deep Conditioning Mask | After shampoo on wet hair | At least 10 minutes | Rinse; use in place of conditioner | A second current brand storefront says 5–10 minutes; dryer route is 30 minutes |
| amika Soulfood Nourishing Mask | After shampoo on wet hair, roots to ends | 5–7 minutes | Rinse; can replace everyday conditioner | Brand permits weekly mask use or conditioner-style use |
| Moroccanoil Intense Hydrating Mask | After shampoo on towel-dried hair | 5–7 minutes | Rinse; no separate conditioner needed | Current brand guidance says heat is not required |
| SheaMoisture Jamaican Black Castor Oil Treatment Masque | After shampoo on damp hair | About 15 minutes with low dryer heat; up to 30 without heat | Rinse; conditioner order not stated | Canadian first-party timing differs slightly |
| Redken Acidic Bonding Concentrate 5-Min Liquid Mask | After shampoo on wet mid-lengths and ends | 5 minutes | Rinse; use in place of conditioner | Use at least weekly or as needed |
| L’Oréal Paris Elvive Total Repair 5 Damage Erasing Balm | After shampoo on wet hair through the ends | 3–5 minutes | Rinse; no additional conditioner recommended | Current page permits daily use |
| Garnier Whole Blends Honey Treasures Repairing Mask | After shampoo on wet lengths | 1 minute in Instructions of Use | Rinse; page also promotes the matching conditioner | The same current page says 3 minutes in explanatory copy |
| Aussie 3 Minute Miracle Moist Deep Conditioner | After shampoo on clean wet mid-lengths and ends | 3 minutes | Rinse; brand also promotes matching conditioner | Use as needed |
| PATTERN Treatment Mask | Before or after cleansing on wet, detangled hair | 5–10 minutes | Rinse; conditioner order not stated | FAQ allows 5–15 minutes with heat; warm towel is optional |
| OUAI Fine to Medium Hair Treatment Masque | After cleansing on warm, damp hair | 5 minutes | Rinse; skip conditioner | Brand Q&A also permits longer and overnight use |
| Color Wow Money Masque | After shampoo on damp hair with excess water removed | 3–5 minutes standard; up to 20 intensive | Rinse; no conditioner needed | The 20-minute timing is an intensive option, not the standard direction |
| Davines NOUNOU Mask | After shampoo on damp hair | 30 seconds | Rinse; conditioner order not stated | A separate 75 ml tomato-extract page says 10–15 minutes; it is not this current full-size formula |
| Kérastase Nutritive Masquintense Fine Hair Mask | After cleansing on washed, towel-dried lengths and ends | 3–5 minutes | Rinse; conditioner order not stated | The same page’s FAQ says 5–10 minutes |
| Verb Ghost Mask | After washing on wet mid-lengths and ends | 5–7 minutes | Rinse; conditioner order not stated | Weekly or as needed |
| Eva NYC Therapy Session Deep Conditioning Hair Mask | After shampoo on wet mid-lengths and ends | 3–5 minutes | Rinse; after conditioner or in its place | A current brand guide says 2–5 minutes |
| Mielle Babassu & Mint Deep Conditioner | After cleansing on clean damp hair, roots to tips | 15 minutes under cap; 30 under dryer | Rinse; conditioner order not stated | The heat routes are explicit, not interchangeable with another mask’s timing |
| Kristin Ess Reconstructive Moisture Mask | After shampoo on wet mid-lengths and ends | 5 minutes standard; up to 60 intensive | Rinse; conditioner order not stated | One-hour route uses a plastic cap |
| Fable & Mane HoliRoots Hair Mask | After wetting or cleansing, on damp hair | At least 5 minutes; no hard maximum | Rinse; mask 1–2 times weekly versus conditioner every wash | FAQ says tip to root; primary usage says mid-lengths to ends |
| Coco & Eve Like A Virgin Hair Masque | After shampoo on towel-dried hair or pre-wash on dry hair | 5–10 after shampoo; 20 minutes or overnight pre-wash | Rinse; can replace conditioner | Multiple routes mean there is no single universal maximum |
| It’s a 10 Miracle Hair Mask | After shampoo on wet hair, roots to tips | 3–15 minutes | Rinse; conditioner order not stated | FAQ splits this into 2–3 minutes normal and 5–15 intensive |
| Pureology Hydrate Hair Treatment Mask | After shampoo on clean damp mid-lengths and ends | At least 5 minutes; no hard maximum | Rinse; use in place of conditioner | Current FAQ publishes a minimum but no cap |
| Matrix Food For Soft Rich Hydrating Treatment Mask | After shampoo on wet mid-lengths and ends | 3–5 minutes | Rinse; follow with oil, conditioner order not stated | No heat direction stated |
| Wella Professionals Fusion Intense Repair Mask | After shampoo and conditioner on clean damp lengths and ends | 5 minutes | Rinse; current three-step regimen puts mask after conditioner | This order is the opposite of replace-conditioner masks |
| Living Proof Moisture Rescue Mask | After shampoo on wet mid-lengths and ends | 5 minutes or longer; no hard maximum | Rinse; use in place of conditioner | Current official page was out of stock when checked |
| tgin Honey Miracle Hair Mask | After shampoo and conditioner on wet hair | 10–15 minutes under dryer; 35–60 without heat | Rinse; explicitly after conditioner | Heat shortens the published route rather than lengthening it |
| Curlsmith Double Cream Deep Quencher | After shampoo on wet hair | 10–30 minutes | Rinse; use instead of rinse-out conditioner | Brand says no heat is required |
| Innersense Hydrating Hair Mask | After cleansing on wet mid-lengths and ends | 5–10 minutes | Rinse; conditioner order not stated | No heat direction stated |
| BREAD BEAUTY SUPPLY hair-mask | After cleansing on wet hair, roots to ends | 5–10 minutes | Rinse; can be used as conditioner | No heat direction stated |
| Carol’s Daughter Goddess Strength Cocoon Hydrating Hair Mask | After shampoo and conditioner on wet hair | 5 minutes | Rinse; explicitly after conditioner | Current brand routine articles say 10–15 minutes |
The same brand can publish more than one answer
Sixteen rows needed a retained caveat because current first-party sources disagreed, offered a second use pathway or risked merging two product identities. Some are small differences: Eva NYC’s product page says three to five minutes while a brand guide says two to five. Others change the action: Garnier’s current page contains both one-minute and three-minute copy, and Kérastase places three-to-five-minute and five-to-ten-minute answers on the same page.
Davines illustrates why exact product identity matters. The current full-size NOUNOU Mask is a lupin-extract formula with a 30-second instruction. A separate 75 ml NOUNOU Hair Mask page describes a tomato-extract formula and says 10–15 minutes. We did not average them into a fictional five-minute rule.
When two official sources disagree, use the current exact container and product page for the item in your hand, then contact the brand if the physical directions and current page still conflict. A third-party summary cannot resolve a formula or packaging transition.
How to use the table without guessing
- Match the exact product name and format. A mask, deep conditioner, leave-in repair treatment and color-depositing mask can use different stages and rinse rules even when shops group them together.
- Read the standard route before the intensive route. “Up to 20 minutes” or “up to one hour” may describe an occasional capped treatment, not every wash.
- Follow the stated conditioner order. Replacing conditioner is not equivalent to layering a mask after conditioner. K18’s no-conditioner-before rule is especially easy to miss.
- Treat heat as product-specific. A dryer shortens tgin’s route, lengthens Briogeo’s retained intensive route and is explicitly unnecessary for Moroccanoil and Curlsmith.
- Do not convert “at least five minutes” into “as long as possible.” Five pages publish no hard maximum. That is missing guidance, not an unlimited-use claim.
For choosing a formula by concern rather than decoding its timer, use our hair-mask guide by damage type or the broader best hair masks and repair treatments guide. This audit answers a different question: what the current labels and brand pages actually instruct.
What the three exact-product reviews do differently
The current ledger confirms three very different instruction patterns: Aussie 3 Minute Miracle Moist is a three-minute rinse-out; Briogeo Don’t Despair, Repair! currently says at least 10 minutes on its canonical page; and K18 is a four-minute wait followed by leave-in styling.
Those reviews discuss who each product may suit and how it fits a routine. The table here does not rank performance. Readers dealing with bleach stress can also use the deep conditioners for overprocessed blonde hair guide, while the damaged-hair conditioner guide covers everyday rinse-out choices rather than occasional mask timing.
Convenience searches for five named masks
These marketplace searches are optional ways to locate the exact named product. They did not supply any timing, order, heat or rinse classification in this audit. Confirm the exact product identity and physical directions before use.
- Search Amazon for K18 Leave-In Molecular Repair Hair Mask
- Search Amazon for Briogeo Don’t Despair, Repair! Deep Conditioning Mask
- Search Amazon for amika Soulfood Nourishing Mask
- Search Amazon for Moroccanoil Intense Hydrating Mask
- Search Amazon for Color Wow Money Masque
As an Amazon Associate, HomeWise earns from qualifying purchases.
Where this study fits in HomeWise
The HomeWise Haircare hub organizes the surrounding selection guides, exact-product reviews and research audits. The existing at-home hair-gloss directions audit owns glosses, glazes and color-depositing masks, so those formats are excluded here. This page is limited to repair, moisture, strengthening and deep-conditioning masks or mask-positioned treatments.
HomeWise Research methodology
- Research date: 1 September 2026.
- Hands-on testing performed by HomeWise: No.
- Sample: 30 exact products from 30 brands. One product per brand was retained to broaden the market view across mass-market, prestige, professional and textured-hair ranges.
- Inclusion: a current official U.S. product or category page had to expose enough first-party direction data to normalize the product’s stage, timing and rinse rule. Twenty products were buyable, nine remained actively listed and one (Living Proof) was out of stock when checked.
- Exclusions: color-depositing masks, purple masks, glosses, DIY treatments, salon-only services, standalone oils and unresolved product identities.
- Source hierarchy: the current exact product page controlled the row. Brand-authored FAQs and guides could add context or expose a disagreement; retailer pages, reviews and search snippets did not control a classification.
- Timing normalization: 30 seconds became 0.5 minute. When a current page published standard and intensive routes, the lowest and highest explicit values were retained and the route difference was disclosed. A blank maximum was never converted into an estimate.
- Counts: 12 products had a published maximum of five minutes or less, six had a maximum from six to 10 minutes, seven had an option above 10 minutes, and five published no hard maximum. Sixteen rows retained a current same-brand disagreement, alternate pathway or version caveat.
- Primary evidence: 30 canonical product pages plus six supplemental first-party pages. HomeWise pages and current search results were used for intent and cannibalization review, not product-direction evidence.
Limitations
This is a dated directions audit, not a laboratory comparison, ingredient assessment or claim that longer or shorter treatment performs better. Hair condition, porosity, density, scalp sensitivity and the amount applied were not measured. Brand instructions can change after a reformulation, packaging update or regional page revision.
“Buyable” and “listed” describe the retained official page on the research date, not stock in every shade, size or location. The table also cannot settle a conflict between a current web page and a newer physical label. When those disagree, stop and ask the manufacturer which direction applies to the exact lot or formula you own.
