Dyson Airwrap vs Shark FlexStyle: Specs Side by Side

Three Dyson Airwrap and three Shark FlexStyle models side by side: heat settings, airflow, temperature control, app features and what is in the box.

As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases. This post may contain affiliate links.

Short answerOn the brands' own listing text, the clearest differences are app control, heat settings and box contents. Dyson's Airwrap i.d. and Co-anda2x connect to the MyDyson app over Bluetooth; Shark's FlexStyle HD430 and IonCurl state four heat settings against three on Dyson's i.d. and Origin; and only the FlexStyle HD440BK kit lists a diffuser in the box. Dyson's website refused our requests, so its specs come from Dyson's own Amazon listings.

Dyson Airwrap and Shark FlexStyle are both air-based multi-stylers: one dryer body with attachments that curl, smooth or dry hair using airflow. This page sets three current Dyson models, the Airwrap i.d., the Airwrap Origin and the Airwrap Co-anda2x (2026 model), beside three Shark models, the FlexStyle HD430, the HD440BK kit and the IonCurl HD840.

Dyson's website returned a bot-check page to every request, so Dyson's specs here are copied from the feature bullets of each model's own Amazon listing, read through Amazon's product data. Shark's rows use its listings the same way, so every row has one source. These are the sellers' bullet points, not a spec sheet, so a blank means the bullets did not say, not that the feature is missing.

Dyson Airwrap and Shark FlexStyle specs from their Amazon listings

Dyson's site refused our requests, so every row is read from the feature bullets of that model's own Amazon listing. Not listed means the bullets did not state it.

Specs read from each maker's own product page on November 8, 2026, or, where the maker's site refused our request, from the feature text on the brand's own Amazon listing (marked in the last column). "Not listed" means the source did not state it.

Heat settings, airflow, temperature control, app or smart features and box contents for three Dyson Airwrap and three Shark FlexStyle models, as each model's own listing bullets state them.
ProductHeat settingsAirflow speedsTemperature control as statedApp or smart featuresAttachments in the boxMaker pageAmazon
Dyson Airwrap i.d.3 heat settings3 airflow speedsKeeps temperatures under 302°FBluetooth, MyDyson appNot listed Brand's Amazon listing textmaker site blocked our request Check price on Amazon
Dyson Airwrap Origin3 heat settings3 airflow speedsMeasures air temperature over 40 times a secondNot listed3 attachments: smoothing dryer, 1.2 in barrel, round volumizing brush Brand's Amazon listing textmaker site blocked our request Check price on Amazon
Dyson Airwrap Co-anda2x (2026 model)Not listedNot listedAdapts heat, airflow and timings to hair typeBluetooth, MyDyson appNot listed Brand's Amazon listing textmaker site blocked our request Check price on Amazon
Shark FlexStyle HD4304 heat settings3 airflow settingsRegulates temperature 1000x per secondNot listed2 curlers (1.25 in), oval brush, paddle brush, concentrator Brand's Amazon listing textmaker site blocked our request Check price on Amazon
Shark FlexStyle HD440BKNot listedNot listedIntelligent heat controlNot listed2 curlers (1.25 in), oval brush, paddle brush, diffuser, concentrator Brand's Amazon listing textmaker site blocked our request Check price on Amazon
Shark FlexStyle IonCurl HD8404 heat levels, up to 203°FNot listedScalp Shield Mode drops to a cooler settingAirSet button: double-tap pauses airflow2 curlers (1.25 in), polisher, oval brush, concentrator Brand's Amazon listing textmaker site blocked our request Check price on Amazon

These are listing bullets, not maker spec sheets. Weight is left out because listing and page weights can be packed or kit weights. Shark's own IonCurl page gives a different temperature cap (302°F) from the listing's 203°F.

Which one to buy

  • If you want a styler that connects to a phone app, the table shows Dyson's listings for the Airwrap i.d. and the Co-anda2x naming Bluetooth and the MyDyson app. No Shark row names an app.
  • If the number of heat settings matters, Shark's HD430 and IonCurl listings state four heat settings or levels, while Dyson's i.d. and Origin listings state three. The other rows do not state a count.
  • If you want a curl-defining diffuser in the box, the table shows it only in the FlexStyle HD440BK kit's list.
  • If you want the smallest attachment set, Dyson's Origin listing shows three attachments, against four attachments in the HD430 and IonCurl lists and five in the HD440BK.
  • If a cell here says Not listed for a spec you care about, the listing bullets did not state it. Read the maker's own page or the manual before you buy.

What each listing says is in the box

These lists are the sellers' own bullets for each model, quoted, not Dyson's or Shark's product pages.

  • Shark FlexStyle HD430: its listing says the box has the Air Drying and Styling System, two 1.25-inch Auto Wrap Curlers, an oval brush, a paddle brush and a styling concentrator.
  • Shark FlexStyle HD440BK: its listing says it includes the same pieces plus a Curl-Defining Diffuser.
  • Shark FlexStyle IonCurl HD840: its listing says it includes two 1.25 inch Coanda Auto-Wrap Curlers, a FrizzFighter High Shine Polisher, an oval brush and a styling concentrator, and lists a diffuser, wide-tooth comb, round brush and paddle brush as compatible extras.
  • Dyson Airwrap Origin: its listing says it includes three attachments, a Coanda smoothing dryer, a 1.2 inch barrel and a round volumizing brush.
  • Dyson Airwrap i.d. and Co-anda2x (2026 model): the bullets describe 6-in-1 versatility but do not list the attachments in the box, so Dyson's own page has to settle that.

Where the sources disagree or claim a comparison

Two items are worth checking before you rely on the table.

  • Shark's own IonCurl product page says its Heat Sense is capped at 302°F, while the IonCurl listing bullet says four heat levels up to 203°F. We cannot tell which figure applies to which mode.
  • Shark's IonCurl page says it dries faster than the Dyson Airwrap i.d., with a footnote citing third-party testing on human hair. The page gives no test details, and we did not check the claim.
  • Hot tools can burn skin and damage hair. Follow each maker's directions and use the lowest heat that works.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Shark FlexStyle a Dyson Airwrap dupe?

It is a separate product line that does a similar job. Shark's IonCurl page compares itself with the Dyson Airwrap i.d. in a footnote. For more alternatives, see our page on Dyson Airwrap dupes.

Which Shark FlexStyle comes with a diffuser?

The HD440BK listing includes a Curl-Defining Diffuser, and the HD430 list does not. The IonCurl listing names a diffuser as a compatible extra, not as part of the box.

Which of these stylers connect to an app?

Dyson's listings for the Airwrap i.d. and the Co-anda2x say Bluetooth connects them to the MyDyson app. None of the Shark listings we read names an app.

Why does the table use Amazon listing bullets?

Dyson's site refused our requests, so Dyson specs come from the feature text on Dyson's own Amazon listings. Shark's rows use its listings too, so each row has one source and the two brands are read the same way.

Do the heat settings match between brands?

Not exactly. Dyson's i.d. and Origin listings say three heat settings and three airflow speeds, Shark's HD430 listing says four heat and three airflow settings, and the other rows do not state a count.

How this page works

Desk research only. We did not test or style with any of these tools. Dyson's website refused our requests, so Dyson specs come from the feature text on Dyson's own Amazon listings, read through Amazon's product data and saved with the page. Shark's pages loaded and are cited for its claims in the notes above, but its table rows use its listings so each row has a single source.

At time of writing (November 8, 2026), these six were the models whose listings were new and in stock, and each Amazon button goes to that exact listing. Listing bullets are written by sellers and brands for shoppers; they can omit specs and may change. We left weight out because listing and product-page weights can be packed or kit weights.

Where this page says a Dyson or Shark listing says something, that is a claim by the brand or seller that we have not verified.

Sources